Join me.

13 Dec

When TSA first began confiscating water bottles and asking us to remove shoes, belts and the like I thought it was silly but complied.  Back then I remember people complaining that it was unreasonable search and seizure but I shrugged it off, thinking it was no big deal and it was necessary to protect us against terrorists.

I have a very different opinion now.  I realize how foolish it is to turn a blind eye to an affront on my rights just because I am not personally bothered.  The fact is we live in a country that stands for certain rights and liberties.  Rights and liberties that men died so that our forefathers could establish and still others have died protecting.

We tolerate hateful words, flag burning, and other forms of expression that may upset us because the freedom to say what we will implies allowing others to spout off.  When a criminal is set free because an officer did not get the proper warrant we accept that because we understand that we must be able to withstand these miscarriages of justice in order to protect our 4th amendment rights.  We can not allow our officials to violate our rights without repercussions.

What has changed?  Have the terrorists won?  Have they really succeeded in redefining who we are?  Have they really managed to terrorize us to the point of ignoring everything our country stands for in order to have a false sense of security?

The answer has to be NO, a resounding NO.

I am writing letters.  I began one month ago and will continue.  Every Monday I will write to my local representatives and the White House.  During the course of the week I will write to an airline and an airport.  I will report the responses here.  I am asking you to join me. Write letters and post your responses.  Name names.  Let’s put the pressure on.

6 Responses to “Join me.”

  1. Brigetmulling December 14, 2010 at 2:21 am #

    I am in! I’ve had noncommittal responses from my senators (this week) and a noncommittal response from my representative right away.

    Please add an RSS feeder gadget so I can easily read you in my reader!

    • writingformyrights December 14, 2010 at 2:35 am #

      Thanks for joining me! I’ve had an automated response from my congressmen, and the airports have forwarded me to TSA. I am new to blogging but hopefully the RSS feeder was added correctly. Let me know =)

  2. Jennifer Fitz December 15, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    I’m here — nice start.

  3. Ann December 16, 2010 at 3:38 am #

    Good idea. I will have a new Rep and a new Senator come January so I will wait until the next Congress to write.

  4. Meghan Aberle January 6, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this post. I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well. In fact your creative writing abilities has inspired me to start my own BlogEngine blog now.

    • writingformyrights January 7, 2011 at 12:10 am #

      Meghan, That’s great =) I hope you’ll also consider writing a representative or if you are international, an airport or airline each week.

Leave a Reply

